TIL: PNGGauntlet

I had no idea how much space I was wasting on uncompressed PNGs.  Then I tried PNGGauntlet, a free program which losslessly shrinks PNGs.  I ran it through a screen shot I took and cropped in Paint, and the file shrunk from 85K to 60K.

That doesn’t sound like a huge improvement, but it’s a free 30% drop in size.  On a website with a lot of images, 30% less bandwidth can certainly add up to real savings.  Even if it doesn’t, making your page load faster leads to a better experience for users, especially on mobile phones.

My plan is to start running images through this and reaping the compression benefits.

Leave a Reply

