TIL: Power BI

Last night, I had my first hands-on experience with Power BI.  I’ve read quite a bit about it (especially given all of the Curated SQL articles on the topic), but tonight was my first hands-on experience thanks to the newly-formed Power BI user group.

Using data from the first lab (an Access database with US sales, a set of CSVs with international sales, and an Excel spreadsheet with population data), I was able to put together a couple of simple dashboard components:

DashboardInAnHour.png

In this simplistic dashboard, I have a stacked bar chart with populations from five countries over time.  Of interest is that the German population has dropped slightly between 1999 and 2014.  I also have a couple of text widgets with total revenue and total number of units sold in the US, followed by a pie chart (shaddup) showing revenue across the five foreign countries in this data set.

I have a long way to go before I can pretend to be proficient in Power BI, but considering that I did this in about 20 minutes while hacking away at a user group, I’m pretty happy with the low introductory learning curve.

Leave a Reply

