Next Year’s Talks

This year, I’ve focused on two talks:  one of the APPLY operator and one introducing Hadoop.  I had a chance to give my Working Effectively with Legacy SQL talk as well, but only once.  I’d love to give my Legacy SQL talk more frequently, but here are my plans:

New Abstracts

I have a few talks sketched out, and some of them build on my prior talks.  I’m pretty excited about all three of them and hope I’ll be able to give all of them next year.

  • Data Migration Using BIML — Many companies scale out their databases horizontally, partitioning data by customer (or some other identifier) into separate databases or instances.  Sometimes, it becomes important to move that data from one database to another.  SQL Server Integration Services is a fantastic tool for ETL, but creating and maintaining dozens or hundreds of data flows by hand is exhaustingly tedious.  Instead of doing it the hard way, use the BI Markup Language (BIML) to automate package development.  This talk will show how we can use metadata tables and BIML to auto-create SSIS packages to migrate data from one database to another, handling foreign key constraints along the way.
  • Peanut Butter & Chocolate:  Integrating Hadoop with SQL Server — So you jumped on the bandwagon and set up a Hadoop cluster…but now what?  Your database developers and app developers know how to integrate with and develop against SQL Server, but the Hadoop world is a completely different experience.  This talk will help bridge the gap between SQL Server and Hadoop, using tools such as SQL Server Integration Services and Sqoop to migrate data between a Hadoop cluster and a SQL Server instance, as well as PolyBase to integrate the two like never before.
  • Big Data, Small Data, and Everything In Between — The breadth of options available to data professionals today is staggering:  between relational, object, graph, and document databases, we have a wide array of storage options, as well as a huge number of access and analysis tools.  This talk will walk you through data platform, data analysis, and data processing options.  We’ll discuss when to use (and when not to use) Spark, R, Storm, and SSAS, as well as a range of other tools and technologies.  By the end of this talk, you may not have MongoDB or Neo4J, but you will know where they might fit.

Cleaning Up Old Talks

In addition to creating new talks, I want to clean up my Tally Tables and In-Memory OLTP talks a bit.  I love Tally Tables, but I think I need to come up with a larger variety of problems and tighten up the discussion; the last time I gave this talk, I was not at all happy with it.

As for In-Memory OLTP, it’s my experience that very few people actually use it (and I’d love to talk to some people at PASS Summit to see if my experience is the same as that of others).  At my company, we do use it and have encountered a couple of major bugs in the product, so I want to include those in my talk, as well as spending some time making sure I really explain the pros and cons as well as I can.  SQL Server 2016 will introduce new features in In-Memory OLTP, so I’ll update the talk to include those as well.

One thought on “Next Year’s Talks

Leave a Reply

