Pluralsight Review: Communications

About a month ago, I listened to Paul Randal’s Pluralsight course entitled Communications:  How to Talk, Write, Present, and Get Ahead!  I consider Randal a top-notch communicator, and so I was definitely interested in hearing what he has to say.  This is a short series at just 2 1/2 hours, but definitely worthwhile.

My biggest take-aways from this were:

  1. Keep e-mails short and succinct.  Have one or two questions and make it clear if you expect an answer.  I used to be terrible about writing novellas to co-workers, but I eventually realized (before this course reinforced the habit) that I need to write concisely.
  2. Do not have a meeting without an agenda, and stick to your agenda.  Don’t waste time in meetings, and don’t be afraid to move a topic to its own meeting if necessary.
  3. Practice for presentations and expect anything to happen.  I’ve had my PC reboot in the middle of a presentation.  This is a talk that I’d given a couple of times, so I was able to continue with my “lecture” portion, and by the time the machine was back up (thank goodness for solid state drives!) I could pick right back up where I’d left off.  Whatever happens, don’t panic.
One thought on “Pluralsight Review: Communications

Leave a Reply

