Skyrim

This may come as a shock to you. I am a huge fan of RPGs, yet I have barely touched the Elder Scrolls series. My first try was Morrowind, which I disliked because the game gave you too much freedom without any kind of structure. I never even tried Oblivion (or either of the first two games, for that matter). Skyrim, I heard, was different. A lot of people have praised it, and deservedly so. It’s immense, the graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is easy to grasp. Yet there’s something that, even after playing it for a good bit (and I’ll certainly play it some more) that I just don’t like about the game so far. They’ve given me an entire world to care about, yet there is one person I don’t care about.

Me.

I’ve mostly been playing sidequests at this point, but I know nothing at all about my character. I know what she looks like (yes, I generally play women in such games, because as a friend of mine put it, “if I’m watching somebody’s ass for thirty to forty hours, I want it to be a woman’s ass”), but that’s it. Now, it could be that I’m not being fair, and I will continue to play and see if I develop any actual personality. We’ll have to see.

4 thoughts on “Skyrim

  1. Never played it, but I’m definitely of the same mindset in playing female characters—as a matter of fact, I’ve said almost exactly the same thing albeit in a much more tactful manner.

Leave a Reply

