Upcoming Events

The next few months will be pretty busy for me.  Here’s a quick schedule of what I’ll be doing.

Presentations

  1. Sometime in the next three months, I’ll present on tally tables to the Triangle area PASS chapter.  This presentation should be a good one—I have seven examples of how to use tally tables, all of which I’ve discussed here on the blog in the past.
  2. The call for speakers isn’t open yet, but I am going to try to speak at the Raleigh Code Camp on November 9th.  My proposed topic is T-SQL Anti-Patterns.  I’ll have some overlap with the SQL Antipatterns book, but this is more a compendium of my experiences.
  3. On November 19th, I will present at the Triangle area .NET User Group data SIG on how to use the APPLY statement in SQL Server.  I’m no Brad Schulz, but I will adapt his explanation, as it was what taught me how to do the right thing.

Conferences

  1. From September 25th through the 29th, I will be at Derbycon for the second year in a row.  I’m taking the Hardware Hacking course, which is an entirely new topic to me.  Looking at the schedule, there don’t seem to be that many database-specific talks, but there are a couple which look like they’ll bash Oracle’s security model, so that’ll be fun.
  2. From October 14th through the 18th, I’m going to be in Charlotte at PASS Summit.  This is my first summit, and I am excited.  On Monday, I’m taking Paul White’s pre-con on reading execution plans, and Tuesday will be Allan Hirt’s pre-con on clustering.  By that point, I’ll probably be unable to think, so I already pre-ordered the presentation videos so I don’t need to take notes…
Leave a Reply

