36 Chambers – The Legendary Journeys: Execution to the max!

December 4, 2012

An MLB Auction

Filed under: Economics, Sports — Kevin Feasel @ 7:00 pm

Tangotiger has an idea:  replace the MLB draft with an auction.  Players could list teams they abjectly refuse to join, and part of the final bid will go to those teams, thereby making it costly for a player to refuse to negotiate with a particular team (or set of teams).

I really like this idea, but I would make one modification:  make this a second-price auction.  In other words, whenever there are at least two teams which make bids, the final price is the second-highest bid.  This is an efficient auction, in that you will end up with the players receiving their market value and the teams not tending to bid beyond that value.

A few thoughts on stuff

Filed under: Books, History, Video Games — Tony Demchak @ 5:57 am

– In dissertation news, I’m reading the excellent Arms of Krupp. It’s not just incredibly detailed, it’s actually pretty funny. The guy pulls no punches and has some serious unresolved issues with Germany; one example is his line: “But of course, all Germans are male chauvinists.”

– In related news, I’m officially going to be a published author, in an honest to goodness print journal, in January 2013. I’ve already had a paper published in an e-journal and one review, with a second review finished but pending publication.

– I’ve started reading the Game of Thrones series and the Millennium Trilogy (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, etc.); both are superb and well worth your time.

– In gaming, I’m mostly playing Paradox games, with the exception of Assassin’s Creed III, which I got during a Black Friday sale for $25, thanks to some strategically withheld reward certificates. Best of the series about 95% of the time; some really weird learning curve stuff in Sequence 3 does create some issues.

– I’ve also been named a Demi-Moderator for the Paradox Forums; I don’t get paid, but I do get to tell people what to do, which is almost as good.

 

So if you wonder why I haven’t been posting, well, there you are.

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers